h1

Worship

August 1, 2007

 

  1. I have been a part of our worship team off and on for the past 13 years of attending the Vineyard. Before that, I played guitar, bass, or drums for the other churches I attended since becoming a Christian at 17. I love worship. I love praising God through music. So I found it interesting over the last couple of months when God put on my heart to worship Him without music.  For me worship=music.   How would I be able to worship Him without an instrument in my hand?
  • prayer.  God enjoys us.  He actually likes hanging out with us.  I have found that I enjoy praying in the morning.  Nothing really formal, but I do have specific people I lift up on certain days.
  • praise.  Wait, I know what you are thinking, but praise doesn’t always mean music.  I love telling God how much His grace means to me.  Reflecting on my life before Him and after Him.
  • purpose.  I am purposefully searching for opportunities  to live my life in a way that gives glory to God.

But now, I need your help.  I am looking for more ways to praise without music.  Anyone have any good ideas?  Please don’t hesitate to comment.  I really am searching to please Him.

Much love,

Tunz

2 comments

  1. oh great questions! and the psalms have many examples of worship that don’t involve music (even though the psalms were often songs, but they conveyed lifestyles of worship)….
    so: i’d suggest poetry… applause (why not!?)… telling other people about it (IT = something noteworthy/praiseworthy that God did)… saying a prayer of thanksgiving, telling God how much IT blessed you…

    … last, and it think this can sometimes be the most powerful:
    …………..silence…………..


  2. I head up the expressive worship team at our church. There are many ways to praise without music. We use sign language – flags, banners, and streamers. Dance as well – although haven’t done that without music!
    I heard of a church that stopped all music for 3 months – no singing – no instruments and the people were challenged to worship in new ways. I’m sure it was hard at first – but it’s also easy to fall into a rut – putting our worship into a box. God loves to take us out of that box.



Leave a Reply

