h1

Self Discipline

October 5, 2006
wV panta hmin thV qeiaV dunamewV autou ta proV zwhn kai eusebeian dedwrhmenhV dia thV epignwsewV tou kalesantoV hmaV dia doxhV kai arethV
1:3 According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that [pertain] unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue:

4

di wn ta megista hmin kai timia epaggelmata dedwrhtai ina dia toutwn genhsqe qeiaV koinwnoi fusewV apofugonteV thV en kosmw en epiqumia fqoraV
1:4 Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.

5

kai auto touto de spoudhn pasan pareisenegkanteV epicorhghsate en th pistei umwn thn arethn en de th areth thn gnwsin
1:5 And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge;

6

en de th gnwsei thn egkrateian en de th egkrateia thn upomonhn en de th upomonh thn eusebeian
1:6 And to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness;

7

en de th eusebeia thn filadelfian en de th filadelfia thn agaphn
1:7 And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity.

8

tauta gar umin uparconta kai pleonazonta ouk argouV oude akarpouV kaqisthsin eiV thn tou kuriou hmwn ihsou cristou epignwsin
1:8 For if these things be in you, and abound, they make [you that ye shall] neither [be] barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Thought I would include the Greek just cause it looks cool and I have no idea how to read it. 

My Ephinany for the week/month/this life.  Self discipline is an oxymoron.  In order for me to be disciplined I must give up any attempt to control of myself.  Listen to what I am really saying.  No I am not going to go splurge at Applebees for lunch because I have an excuse to have no self control.  I am not my own.  I willingly gave that up when I asked to hang out with Jesus.  I signed on for the Jesus army for the long haul.  I hate that army anaolgy, but it is so good I need to start with it.  The Big Red One is located 30 minutes from here and we have a lot of friends who are in the army.  Take my buddy Mike, for example.  The army is not his day job.  The army is not just his career, but second to Mike’s walk with Jesus, it rules how he makes decisions.  Mike’s discipline comes from his role in the military.  Does My dicipline come from what I know about Jesus?  No honestly, often my discipline comes from my lack of knowledge about my father and His will.

Working on changing that, so to be continued.

Tunz

Leave a Reply

